top of page

Hey Boo

Friends, you may have noticed that I haven't been posting as much over here because I've been busy submitting posts to external blogs. If you want to see some of my latest and greatest, go check out my posts on Austin Mom Blogs! I love to write pieces that pull at your heartstrings. But that's not why I'm over here today. Today I felt the need to jump on here really quick to share a fun tradition that we're doing in our neighborhood for Halloween...and encourage you to do it too! Below are the free printables that I just put together (based on another artists' work because her links were broken).


We've Been Boo'd

When summer is "over", the only thing that really cheers me up is that we have holidays to celebrate. (I said "over" because, here in the Austin, the weather is still pretty warm (READ: HOT), leaves are mostly yellowish-brown, and the words pumpkin-spice make my forehead bead out in sweat because it's just. too. hot. for that nonsense. But celebrating holidays is what helps me switch out of summer gear despite the temperature outside. I turn into a kid again between October 1 and December 26, and it's been so fun to include my kiddos.


Each year, almost all of our Halloween decorations are handmade, crafty projects that the kids can basically do on their own with just a small amount of guidance (or hot glue) from me. We've hung handmade ghosts from the trees, woven a spider web on our front porch, created a swarm of bats across the door and strung festive kid-painted balls from the mantle, but this fun Halloween activity includes your community around you.


That's right...We've Been Boo'd!

If this hasn't started in your neighborhood, I challenge you to start it TODAY!


What you do: Create a fun pail of treats for two different neighbors and include each of these printables so that they know to pass along the fun! They'll reprint the pages and "Boo" someone else in the neighborhood...and on and on.


I hope that by October 31, both my and your entire neighborhoods have these signs hanging from each and every front door!


Disclaimer: this is NOT my artwork. This was my most favorite option from the ones on Pinterest, but when I downloaded it from the original artists' page, I got a "suspicious link" warning. So I sized them into photoshop for myself. Feel free to just right click and save straight to your computer for printing. Here is the link to the original artist with my appreciation.



Are you excited!?


Run up to the Dollar Store or Target or Hobby Lobby right now and get this started in your neighborhood. We aren't telling the kids who Boo'd us until Halloween so they're busy trying to figure out who got us last week!

 

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page